Sign in to follow this  
BassinHomer

Depth Finder Mod for the Yak!

Thinking of doing a Mod like this for my Yak, I like the swing arm idea for the transducer and I really think that's the ticket for me becuase you're not supposed to block the sides of a side imaging finder so it would be hard to do a trough hull. Anyhow the only thing I don't like about it is the distance to the unit head, I'd like the screen closer for easy viewing so I'm gonna have to figure something out with that.

I don't like it. One trip with a good fish getting tangled and you will be ready to throw it away. Put the transducer at the back of the yak out the way. I'm no pro, by anyones standard but I'll help you if I can. I think you're pretty close to me. I live between the 402 and 407 off I40. Shoot me a pm if you think I can help with ideas or mounting.

The screen will be plenty close enough unless you have bad vision. The bow units on most boats are 6 feet from you while standing anyways. With a yak, the more room you have in front for fishing, the better.

Great points Fox,The only problem I have with mounting the Ducer on the bottom/back is that the manual reccomends the Transducer be below the bottom of the boat which presents a problem when launching as unless I'm launching from a dock there is a good chance I'll be scrapping bottom when launching, but I never even thought about a fish getting tangled, which totally makes sense....hmmm :scratch:

Put it on a PVC mount and push it down after you launch and are clear of the bottom... Or aluminum mount. The PVC would bend and give you some forgiveness.