Sign in to follow this  
maw10

Lew's LFS reel

i gave myself a present this year and ordered out one of those new Lew's LFS reels. got a chance to try it out yesterday and thought i'd post a comment here about it as i'm very pleased with it. first off, i'm not an expert by any stretch, and most of the other reels i have are pretty inexpensive reels so i have nothing to compare to as far as higher dollar stuff. with that said, you can decide for yourself how good this product report is.

as far as what i'd call a mid to upper-range "entry level" reel, i would highly recommend it. it doesn't have alot of bells and whistles, mostly in the cast control area as it only has the one magnetic anti-backlash control...no centrifugal internal control. its small and low profile and fits nicely in my hand and casts very smoothly and retrieves the same. it was very breezy on the lake yesterday, and while casting a square bill crank bait i found that one click up in the cast control knob allowed me to cast directly into the wind with no over run problem at all. i could cast a long way with very little effort, and it was comfortable to use for many casts in a row, which means alot to me and my stiff stove up old body. the drag was very smooth and held right where i set it which helped me land a six and a half pounder yesterday.

bottom line...if you're looking for a reel in the $100 range, which, by the way, is more than i've ever spent on one, and can't decide if you want to risk the money on something you might or might not be happy with, i'd tell you i think this reel is worth the bucks and worth taking a chance on. my opinion is that just about anyone would like this product.

• Like 1

That LFS is one of the best bargains in fishing. I have a few of them and for the price they can't be beat.

+1 Guarantee you it's the best you'll get in that price range. Can't beat em

Love mine & converted most of my old school BB1-N & BB1NG's over to the LFS & the new BB1 & BB2 reels.