Awhile back I was looking at doing something solar for charging my trolling motor batteries while my boat sits on a lift at the lake. Well after researching I have nixed that idea and the main reason is a couple other people that are closer than me to our boat dock asked me about installing some electric and we have pretty much agreed that one of the guys is going to let us use his power, another fella is going to provide a trencher and I am going to install the electric. I'm going run the wiring in PVC and size the conductors properly so we won't have any voltage drop. With that said I have started searching for a two bank on board charger to install in my boat and again there is a ton of them out there but I have no experience with them. I run two batteries just for my 12/24volt trolling motor.

So this is where you guys come in with opinions and suggestions. I would appreciate it.

Thanks in advance

Phil

Edited by Whopper

I love my Noco Genius, Phil. I run all AGM batteries, and this charger is geared toward that design. But if you use AGMs, I think this would be a great choice for your situation because it's designed to stay plugged in anytime you're not using the boat. Basically, it runs diagnostics on your batteries every so often & adjusts its charging pattern accordingly. Guaranteed to not overcharge or overheat your batteries. I've been thrilled with its performance.

^^^^ that. Noco is well made and a better bargain than anything else I've found. I know Minn Kota Precision are very good as well, but the cost imo is insane. 

I have a old style Minn kota got it used for 50 bucks off buddy of mine it 3 bank but just use 2 of them been real good to me hope this helps