Sign in to follow this  
Jbrown

Drop shot

What size sinker do you use for your drop shot rigs and why I use a quarter oz ninty percent of the time but some times I step down to a eighth in shallow water but I'm just curious if I'm going to light 

I'm no expert on the dropshot by any means, but I generally use 1/4, 3/8, and 1/2, depending on depth, wind, etc. 

+1 on it depends.  If you're fishing really deep a heavier weight may help you feel the bottom and keep your bait in the strike zone.  Lighter weights are my pick in shallower water (say, <15').  Another thing to consider is the nature of the bottom.  If it's rocky or chunky a smaller weight usually doesn't get hung up as quickly as a heavier, bulkier weight.  Some will argue to the contrary, that smaller weights get hung up more easily.  The good news is there's no right or wrong to this.  Recommend using what you feel most comfortable and, most importantly, most confident with.

Tons of options out there.  The pinch-type line attachment on made-for dropshot weights allow you to free your rig from a snagged weight without ruining the entire rig.  Denser metals like tungsten give you a distinct click when they hit something hard, sometimes acting as an attractant.  Recommend playing around w/ different sizes, shapes, and weights.  Over time you'll come to rely on a certain set of hook, weight, and bait.  Confidence is everything!

Agree with Airborne 100%. I'm not a big fan of the ds rig, but I do utilize it from time to time. For me personally, I prefer the VMC spinshot hook with a 1/8-3/8 oz Reins tungsten weight on a 6'10" Loomis mag medium x fast shakeyhead rod with 30lb braid to the VMC & 8lb flouro from the hook to the weight. But it's all in what you have faith in. Confidence is 95% of fishing.