Bass Boat wiring project

bronzebackhuntr

Hey guys, as most of you know over the last 2 years I have had some off and on problems with the wiring on my boat.  The thought has crossed my mind to cut ties and just re-wire the entire thing when I undertake getting the leak fixed when the weather breaks.  Anyone ever taken on a project of this magnitude?  Any thoughts on where to start or where may be good to start looking for wiring kits to do this?  I have a lot of home remodeling and wiring experience and used to hook up car stereo systems, so I'm not exactly inexperienced at this type of work, but I've never even thought about taking on a project of this magnitude.

I have no problems at all with the engine wiring, it's all good, so the switches and electrical system that runs all the accessories is my biggest undertaking in this.

I am electrician and lighting tech by trade, it is all i have ever done, i would replace 1 wire at a time be sure to use a heavy enough wire to carry the load, use crimp terminals and check your switches with ohm meter with power off them, good luck and if I can give more advice or help give me a shout, always remember loose connections cause heat, heat causes failure in diff ways such as switch failure all the way to fire if source gets hot enough

Edited by country
  • Like 1

I'm a mechanic and I agree with everything country said. The only thing I would add is after you get your wires ran I would get some corrugated wire loom and bundle your wires in it and make nice neat wiring harnesses instead of having a bunch of individual wires.

• Like 1

All good comments here, country we have something in common, been in the trade 37years and counting.

Chris exactly what kind of problems are you having?, just asking to maybe save you some time and money.

A lot of problems can occur with something as simple as a loose ground wire, in a boat it is a common wire with everything.

Edited by Whopper